Understanding California's Wage And Hour Laws

On January 1, 2016, California raised its minimum wage to $10/hour. This wage increase includes tipped workers for every hour they work. Even though the national minimum wage is $7.25 California employers must pay their workers $10 an hour. There are employers who make excuses as to why they do not have to pay the legal minimum wage or do not have to pay overtime . This theft of wages is illegal.

Tuttle & McCloskey

When Do Workers Get Overtime?

  • Worked more than eight hours in a day
  • Worked more than 40 hours in a week
  • If workers work more 12 hours in a day they receive double time.
  • If an employee works seven days in a row that employee should be paid time and half for the first eight hours of work. Any hours over eight should be paid at double time.

Meal and Rest Breaks

Employees should receive meal and rest breaks depending on the number of hours they work. For example, an employer must allow an employee to take a lunch break within the first 5 hours of work. In addition, if the employee works 10 hours or more, they are entitled to a second lunch break. An employer's failure to make lunch breaks available to its employees is violating the law and we routinely assist workers in holding their employer's accountable for violations of the law in this regard.

If you have questions or concerns regarding a potential wage and hour claim, call the Fresno office of Tuttle & McCloskey, at 559-500-3393 or fill out our online contact form and we will get back to you quickly.