Understanding California’s Wage And Hour Laws
On January 1, 2020, California raised its minimum wage to $12/hour for employers with less than 25 employees and to $13/hour for employers with more than 26 employees. California’s wages will continue to increase yearly until 2022 for most industries. While there are complex exceptions for learners, apprentices and certain relative-employee relationships, some employers make excuses as to why they do not have to pay the legal minimum wage or do not have to pay overtime. This theft of wages is illegal.
At Tuttle & McCloskey, PC, our attorneys can answer your questions and concerns about wage and hour claims if you suspect your employer is not paying you the wages you have earned.
When Do Workers Get Overtime?
- Worked more than eight hours in a day
- Worked more than 40 hours in a week
- If workers work more than 12 hours a day, they receive double time.
- If an employee works seven days in a row, that employee should be paid time and half for the first eight hours of work. Any hours over eight should be paid at double time.
Meal And Rest Breaks
Employees should receive meal and rest breaks depending on the number of hours they work. For example, an employer must allow an employee to take a lunch break within the first 5 hours of work. In addition, if the employee works 10 hours or more, they are entitled to a second lunch break. An employer’s failure to make lunch breaks available to its employees is violating the law, and we routinely assist workers in holding their employers accountable for violations of the law in this regard.
Contact Us If You Believe You Have A Wage And Hour Claim
If you have questions or concerns regarding a potential wage and hour claim, call Tuttle & McCloskey at 559-500-3393 or fill out our online contact form and we will get back to you quickly about these and other employment law matters you may be have questions about.